Japanese Literature Challenge 3

08Aug09

I’ve seen a couple of blogs link to Belleza’s Japanese Literature Challenge 3, and despite the fact that I’m a little late, I reckon it would be fun to join in – specially as I already have two Japanese books lined up for the next couple of months.

Also, after looking at the challenge’s button, I just had to join in. :)

The rules look straightforward:

This year, all you have to do is read one work of Japanese origin. It can be literature of course, but don’t feel confined to that. You may choose to read poetry, biographies, short stories or even manga. If you are willing to read one such piece, you’ve met the challenge. If you read more, all the better.

So, the two I definitely plan to read:

  1. Out {Natsuo Kirino} : Jackie @ FarmLaneBooks had a five-star review for this book, and it intrigued me. I love thrillers as well, and feel like I haven’t read my share this year (the only out and out thriller I have read is Mary Higgins Clark’s Where Are You Now).
  2. Kafka On The Shore {Haruki Murakami} : I’ve had this book on my shelf for ages, much before I read Norwegian Wood (February 2009). It’s one of those books I’ve been “saving”, and I think the time is right now!
  3. A Wild Sheep Chase {Haruki Murakami} : Instead of reading Kafka On The Shore, which I’m still “saving”, I read another Murakami instead!

I’ll probably read a couple more as well, as I love Japanese literature, and the stories are always so mesmerizing and different. There are a couple of other Murakamis that I want to read (I actually want to read all of them), so, I might make this more of a Murakami challenge!

Thanks for hosting this – I’m sure it’s going to be lots of fun!

16 Responses to “Japanese Literature Challenge 3”

  1. I agree that it is going to be lots of fun!

    I’m so glad that we are both reading Out and I look forward to your thoughts on Kafka on the Shore (I am very tempted to read this as well as Norwegian Wood).

  2. 2 Bellezza

    Thanks for participating in it; I’m glad to meet you, and I’m looking forward to your thoughts on Kafka On The Shore. It’s one of my favorite books ever.

  3. @Claire : You should (read Kafka On The Shore as well). I’ve heard great things about it, and most people seem to rate it ahead of Norwegian Wood! Plus, you know… you’ll probably end up reading it eventually, anyway ;)

    Out looks really interesting, so am looking forward to reading your thoughts on it as well.

    @Bellezza : Thanks for hosting it. Am really looking forward to reading Kafka On The Shore, to be honest. It’s been difficult – just keeping the book on my shelf, holding out for a “right” time to read it. But, I don’t know – it’s one of those books which I’m sure I’ll like (I so hope I’m not disappointed).

  4. Hope you’re not disappointed, too. I really liked Kafka on the Shore. It’s the only Murakami I’ve read so far though. Planning to read The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle or Norwegian Wood. I might not be brave enough for Natsuo Kirino yet, though.

    • I loved Norwegian Wood – it was quite depressing, but, it was like no other book I’ve read before. Hope you enjoy it.

      Haven’t read Wind-Up Bird Chronicle yet, either, so looking forward to hearing your thoughts on that one.

      • Wind-up Bird Chronicle is the BEST Murakami I read! (And the 1st…) I have almost read all of his books now, so…

  5. I loved Norwegian Wood! Looking forward to reading Kafka On the Shore one of these days as well… Welcome to the challenge! :)

  6. Thank you for pointing me in the direction of this challenge… Like I need more reading challenges?! But.. hehehe I already read 2 Murakami’s this year (South of the border, West of the sun and Dance, dance, dance) and 1 Ishiguro (The Remains of the Day, not sure if that one would count ;)

    Enjoy Kafka on the shore on your beach!

    • i haven’t read either of the ones you have, but I too have done two Murakami’s this year. It’s going to be my third, and I really hope I enjoy it.

      The challenge should be fun – you know you love it, despite being signed up to loads anyway ;)

      • south of the border is a bit boring for me, it’s my least favorite from Murakami…but I enjoy dance dance dance a lot

  7. 12 novelinsights

    I haven’t read ‘Out’ although I enjoyed another by the same author (alot of my fellow book groupers hated me for this one as it was quite grim, but I liked it). But Out is supposed to be better so thats on my TBR.

    Kafka on the Shore is a good read. Bizarre like all of Murakami’s books but really interesting and engaging so I would say a good choice!

  8. hey this sounds interesting since I am a big fans of japanese literature….I should join this challenge


  1. 1 Uh-oh: Japanese Literature Challenge… « Graasland

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

