Booking Through Thursday – Sticky

04Jun09

btt2
 “This can be a quick one. Don’t take too long to think about it. Fifteen books you’ve read that will always stick with you. First fifteen you can recall in no more than 15 minutes.”

Ok, going to make this a really quick one, and stick to ‘adult’ books (i.e. no Enid Blyton!)

  1. Catcher In The Rye – J.D. Salinger
  2. The Fountainhead – Ayn Rand
  3. A Fine Balance – Rohinton Mistry
  4. Lust for Life – Irving Stone
  5. An Equal Music – Vikram Seth
  6. A Clockwork Orange – Anthony Burgess
  7. We Need To Talk About Kevin – Lionel Shriver
  8. The Road – Cormac McCarthy
  9. 1984 – George Orwell 
  10. To Kill A Mockingbird – Harper Lee
  11. Schindler’s Ark – Thomas Keneally
  12. One Hundred Years Of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  13. The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett
  14. Fahrenheit 451 – Ray Bradbury
  15. Lord of the Flies – William Golding

Took me under eight minutes, and the list is in no particular order. How about you? Which books will you never forget?

8 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Sticky”

  1. 1 Kris

    I was thinking about putting in Lord of the Flies too.
    The Road is on my long TBR list lol

  2. 2 JoAnn

    A Fine Balance and another book by Seth are on my list. The Fountainhead is in my tbr pile. I had a hard time with One Hundred Years of Solitude though – I just don’t ‘get’ magical realism.

  3. 3 Linnea

    Thanks for visiting me. You are right. The title is I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings. Couldn’t find a copy here, and The Caged Bird Sings was all I could remember of the title. Thanks for reminding me of the correct title.

  4. I forgot The Road! It sure made an impact on my mind. The Fountainhead and Atlas Shrugged continue to behold me even now.

    Stuck forever and ever!

  5. 5 Novroz

    Catchear inthe rye has been mentioned so many time…it gives me a base to find and give that book a try.

    To kill a mockingbird is in my to-read book

  6. 6 Violet

    Lord of the Flies and Fahrenheit 451 have been on my wishlist forever. And The Road has been on my TBR. I should really read these books.

  7. 7 uncertainprinciples

    @Kris : The Road is fantastic. It’s probably one of the most horrifying dystopian/post-apocalyptic books I’ve ever read, but really well-written. I really hope you enjoy it.

    @JoAnn : A Fine Balance was one of those books that just wowed me. I didn’t see the ending coming at all, and it was just so sad. Fountainhead is one of my all-time favorite.

    @gautami tripathi : I just can’t explain how much I loved Fountainhead. I re-read it immediately, and was still as amazed as the first time. I actually ‘gush’ about that book, and normally, I don’t gush! I liked Atlas Shrugged as well, but… there was just something about Fountainhead that makes it stand out. As for forgetting stuff – I forgot The Great Gatsby :'(

    @Novroz : Catcher in the Rye is one of those – you either love it, or hate it. You might end up finding the protagonist very hypocritical and self-indulgent, but… in my opinion, he’s a great character. Look forward to hearing what you think of it, if and when you give it a go. As for To Kill A Mockingbird – I think everyone who’s read it has it on their list! It’s one of those all-time greats.

  8. 8 Dot

    Thanks for visiting my blog! I keep meaning to read A Clockwork Orange, your list reminded me! Happy BTT!


Leave a Reply

