Musing Mondays – Half Way In

29Jun09


This week’s Musing Mondays muses on mid year reading.

Now that we’ve come to the middle of the year, what do you think of your 2009 reading so far? Read anything interesting that you’d like to share? Any outstanding favourites?

I’ve completed forty-two books so far. That’s about eight short of my half-year target, which means I’ll need to read eight more books in the second half of the year. However, I do have a couple of holidays planned, which means long flights, which means books to read like there’s no tomorrow. :)

I’ve enjoyed almost all the books I’ve read this year, with three notable exceptions:

  1. Anne Enright – The Gathering
  2. Kate Summerscale – The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher
  3. Kurt Vonnegut – Breakfast of Champions

If I had to recommend only three books (this is tough), they would be:

  1. F. Scott Fitzgerald – The Great Gatsby
  2. Anthony Burgess – A Clockwork Orange
  3. Haruki Murakami – Norwegian Wood

My proudest achievement so far has been finishing and enjoying Salman Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children. I had tried reading it some years back, and wasn’t able to finish it. Didn’t think I’d make it this time, but… (Well done, me!)

I do have the following reviews outstanding (naughty me!):

  1. Jodi Picoult – My Sister’s Keeper
  2. John le Carre – A Murder Of Quality
  3. Margaret Atwood – The Handmaid’s Tale

So, that’s my half-year in a nutshell. How about yours? Happy with your progress? Not so much? Plans for the rest of the year?

11 Responses to “Musing Mondays – Half Way In”

  1. 1 Mary

    Gatsby is one of my favorites. I read it every couple of years.

  2. 2 Elena

    Can’t believe you made it through Clockwork Orange! I have had much difficulty with this one. Maybe my copy just didn’t come with a translation guide…(which I’m not sure he even had)

  3. Gatsby is one of my fave books of all time. I have A Clockwork Orange on my list. Hopefully I can get through that one!

  4. One can’t go wrong with Murakami!

    And The Handmaid’s Tale is a great read!

    Here is my Monday post

  5. 5 uncertainprinciples

    @Mary : I see myself doing the same as well. Can’t believe I didn’t read it ’til now!

    @Elena : Mine didn’t come with a translation guide either! The first couple of chapters was tough, but then, I think I just kind-of got used to it, and found it easy enough to determine what was going on. A guide would’ve eased matters, but, the story was well worth it. (You can pick up a guide here, if you want)

    @Rebecca : See above, if your copy doesn’t come with a translation guide. Let me know how you find that one!

    @gautami tripathy : I know! I really want to read Wind Up Bird Chronicle and Sputnik Sweetheart. Also, Kafka On The Shore is meant to be fantastic, so…

  6. It doesn’t look as though our reading tastes match exactly as I loved:
    Anne Enright – The Gathering and Kate Summerscale – The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher

    I love Murakami though!

    I was proud to finish Midnight’s Children too!

    I look forward to seeing what books the next 6 months brings!

  7. Oh, I liked Clockwork Orange, just hearing about it makes me want to read it again, but alas I have to get through my tbr pile first. Gosh! I think I need to give up sleeping to fit them all in LOL

    Sassy
    :)

  8. 8 Mish

    I’ll eventually make it through the stacks to Clockwork Orange. Looking forward to your review of Handmaid’s Tale.

  9. 9 uncertainprinciples

    @jackie : I know!! I just couldn’t get into The Gathering, and well, I think I expected something much different from The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher. On the other hand, I think we had similar opinions on Notes on a Scandal, and maybe, Q&A?

    @Sassy Brit : The day I realized I’d never read all the books in the world was a very depressing one for me. With the way my TBR list is growing, I’d be skeptical about finishing all the books I *want* to read.

    @Mish : It’s going to be in Q&A form, thanks to the Weekly Geeks a couple of weeks back. Handmaid’s Tale, that is. Let me know how you get on with Clockwork Orange, when you get there.

  10. 10 mee

    Yay I’m glad you liked Norwegian Wood! I LOVED it! I remember I didn’t like Gatsby, but that’s probably because I had to read it for school..

    • 11 uncertainprinciples

      School does that to so many great books. I really didn’t like Little Women for that reason only. When I re-read it a few years later, I was astounded as to how good it was.

      Norwegian Wood was fantastic. Looking forward to reading a couple of more Murakamis this half of the year.


Leave a Reply

