Booking Through Thursday – Unread

10Jul09

btt2

Booking Through Thursday presents an idea from ‘The Toddled Dredge’:

So here today I present to you an Unread Books Challenge. Give me the list or take a picture of all the books you have stacked on your bedside table, hidden under the bed or standing in your shelf – the books you have not read, but keep meaning to. The books that begin to weigh on your mind. The books that make you cover your ears in conversation and say, ‘No! Don’t give me another book to read! I can’t finish the ones I have!’

I wish I could cover my ears and say “No! I can’t finish the ones I have.” However, me and books is like moths to flames, or, bees to honey. I just can’t say no! My stack isn’t too bad right now (umm, it’s been worse).

So, from left to right, you have:

  1. Carlos Ruiz Zafon – The Angel’s Game.
    I absolutely loved Shadow of the Wind, so when I saw his new book was out, and Waterstones was selling the hardback for half price, I had to buy it. I just couldn’t say NO.
  2. Nancy Huston – Fault Lines
    This was shortlisted for the Orange Prize in 2008, and it’s part of my self-imposed challenge to read all major prize-winners and nominations.
  3. James Ellroy – LA Confidential
    Ok, I can see the eyes rolling, but, sometimes, all you need is a good fast-paced easy read.
  4. Linda Grant – When I Lived In Modern Times
    About three people have recommended this book to me, so I ended up borrowing it from a friend. Is it wrong that because of the cover and the print, I don’t really want to read it?
  5. Wally Lamb – The Hour I First Believed
    I’ve never read a Wally Lamb novel before. Time I started to?
  6. John le Carre – A Most Wanted Man
    I really enjoyed A Murder Of Quality, which I read last month. Also, The Constant Gardener was great. So, when Waterstones was selling this for £3.49, how could I walk away?
  7. Angela Carter – The Magic Toyshop
    I loved the cover, and I loved the name of the book. How often do you see a book with that kind of a title in the ‘adult’ section of a bookstore?
  8. Jeffrey Eugenides – The Virgin Suicides
    I’m actually reading this right now. Loads of people rave about Middlesex, so, I thought I’d introduce myself to his writing with the debut novel.
  9. Orhan Pamuk – My Name Is Red
    This has been lying on my book shelf since early March. I quite liked The White Castle, so it made sense to get this book. I really don’t know why I haven’t started reading it yet.
  10. Catherine O’Flynn – What Was Lost
    I started reading this, and forgot it at a friend’s place. By the time I met him next, I was already well into another book, and it just kind-of slipped lower in the list.

How about you? Is your stack within the 10 book mark, or, is it way beyond? Or, are you more pragmatic, and have only books you can finish?

Also, have you read any of the books above? Any you recommend I bump up the list?

9 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Unread”

  1. 1 Sally

    I have never read any of this list. I was careful NOT to copy the titles. LOL I’m trying to keep my list under control.

  2. I haven’t read anything by Wally Lamb either. I plan to read I Know This Much is True soon. I’m really hoping it is going to be great!

    I loved Middlesex and plan to read The Virgin Suicides soon too. I hope you like it.

    The only one from your list I’ve read is What was Lost. Certain parts in it were brilliant (everything about the little girl) but it had a slow middle section. It’s OK, but nothing special.

    Happy reading!

  3. 3 Jenny

    I can’t wait to read The Angel’s Game. I LOVED Shadow of the Wind. What a great story.

    I read She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb years ago. I was not impressed, but I think it had more to do with the topic of the novel as opposed to the writing. I might have to give him another try.

    Others on your list look really interesting….

  4. 4 uncertainprinciples

    @Sally : Best of luck on that. I long gave up on ‘keeping it under control’.

    @Jackie : Am planning on finishing Virgin Suicides this weekend. It’s interesting so far… Ah well, I guess I’ll read it anyway, and see how it goes! Wasn’t blown away by the couple of chapters I read.

    @Jenny : I’m saving it for my ‘big vacation’ next month! It looks quite promising, so, hopefully, I won’t go wrong. Pity about She’s Come Undone. The Hour I First Believed seems to have a good story, so…

  5. I’ve just started The Angles Game and like it so far. But you know, I’ve almost completely forgotten The Shadow if the Wind. I should re-read it.

    • 6 uncertainprinciples

      Or read a review :)

      The way Shadow of the Wind started was enough for me to fall in love with the book, and the book was actually amazing, if a little too dramatic, throughout. Hope you like Angel’s Game.

  6. 7 Steph

    I haven’t read any of these, though I really like Wally Lamb. She’s Come Undone is my favorite.

  7. 9 Jodie

    ‘What Was Lost’ is written by an author from my area (although it says she’s from Birmingham I believe she’s actually from Wolverhampton). It also has the best child narrator in an adult book I’ve read in ages.


Leave a Reply

