Booking Through Thursday – Preferences

23Jul09

btt2

Which do you prefer? (Quick answers–we’ll do more detail at some later date)

Reading something frivolous? Or something serious?

Mostly serious. If I’m in the mood for something ‘frivolous’, I normally go for Young Adult/Children’s literature.

Paperbacks? Or hardcovers?

Hardcovers (although they’re a pain to carry).

Fiction? Or Nonfiction?

Fiction.

Poetry? Or Prose?

Read more prose, love good poetry. Tough one.

Biographies? Or Autobiographies?

Autobiographies.

History? Or Historical Fiction?

Both.

Series? Or Stand-alones?

Standalone – it’s less daunting.

Classics? Or best-sellers?

Classics.

Lurid, fruity prose? Or straight-forward, basic prose?

Straightforward, albeit lyrical.

Plots? Or Stream-of-Consciousness?

Both. Don’t do preachy though.

Long books? Or Short?

A good book is a good book, irrespective of length. I do both.

Illustrated? Or Non-illustrated?

Mostly non-illustrated. However, I love encyclopedias, or those glossy art books (‘coffee table’ books).

Borrowed? Or Owned?

Owned. I hate feeling pressured to finish a book quickly, as opposed to reading it at my own pace. Plus, I love waking up and seeing a crowded bookshelf.

New? Or Used?

New, or at least it has to look new! Or, have a funky cover! Or, be one of my all-time favorites which has been signed by the author. Or, be a limited edition.

Happy Thursday, folks!

11 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Preferences”

  1. That’s funny that you said you’d read a YA novel for the “frivolous” nature of them when the only two YA novels I’ve read this year are The Book Thief and Fallen Angels–neither of them very frivolous. I’ll have to quit reading such serious stuff!

  2. 2 Susan

    I would have the hardest time really answering any of these. “Both” or “it depends” would be my standard answer!

  3. Choosing just 1 answer is very difficult…I answer both in some questions, just like you

  4. @teacherninja : Well, I was thinking more of things like Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, and the like. Book Thief, Boy In The Striped Pyjamas, Diary of a Young Girl etc. aren’t frivolous by any means. Sorry!

    @Susan : I know! Was an absolute nightmare to choose. Easiest way would be to have a coin and flip it for each question.

    @Novroz : Don’t blame you! I found this quite difficult, specially because they wanted ‘short’ answers.

  5. It seems we got somewhat similar tastes!

    Booking through preferences

  6. I like your answers :) My blog is named “Well-Mannered Frivolity” – can you guess what my answer to number 1 was? Here’s my BTT response:

    Booking Through Thursday: Preferences

    Btw, I’m planning on reading Rebecca later in the year. I’ll be interested to see what you think of it.

  7. 7 Mish

    I find it a bit interesting that so many find series daunting or don’t want to “commit” to the longer storyline. I’m currently in the middle of several series, but don’t feel pressured to complete them immediately. I’ll continue whenever the mood suits or I get the next book. I own most of my reads, but friends and I also borrow from each other all the time. I can’t remember the last time I went to the library to get a book. I’ve been doing really well with limiting my new purchases to extreme cases of buying from the author and/or hot off the press so have only bought 4 so far this year. Two are signed. Used books that “follow” me home, is another story.

  8. @gautamitripathy : yep, looks like. I battled through a couple of decisions to give just the one answer. In some cases, I just succumbed to the easy option of ‘both’.

    @Susan B Evans : hmmm… Let me guess… Frivolous? :) I haven’t started Rebecca yet. I meant to, and then ended up re-reading Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince after seeing the movie. Am going to start Rebecca after.

    @Mish : I have this bizarre urge to read series in one go. For example, I read the His Dark Materials trilogy in one go, without reading anything else in the middle. Same for the first four Harry Potters. And then… Then I get withdrawal symptoms. I watched all of The West Wing in six weeks, and then didn’t know what to do!!! That’s how bad I am! Only reason why I haven’t started with the Discworld trilogy yet.

  9. 9 Mish

    Some I do, some I don’t. I’m also somewhat ADD when it comes to books so unless I have the following book in hand, I’m bound to get distracted. The pausing in a series is also partially due to my “new books limit”. Irene Radford’s 5-book Merlin’s Descendants was the last series I read non-stop, last summer.

    I know what you mean about withdrawal. I’m basically on a continuous circuit of Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

  10. I’m a bit behind but it is fun to read your preferences.
    Mine are here.
    Another btt question coming up tomorrow!


Leave a Reply

