T+0

22Aug09

So, D-Day is here. I’m all packed, barring my laptop, my camera charger, a couple of memory cards, and my passport. As you can imagine, I’m really excited, and, the picture above is something very high on my to-do list.

I don’t know what kind of internet access I’ll have, so not sure how oft’ I’ll end up blogging (not that I blog daily anyway!). However, before leaving, I thought I’d share my final book haul with you, considering it’s changed a bit since my original plan.

I had to decide against Zafon’s The Angel Game as it’s way too bulky. I feel terrible about it, but, I will ensure it’s the first book I read when I get back to London, in order to make amends. The swap in is Natsuo Kirino’s Out.

Also, I had a small battle with myself as to Angela Carter’s The Bloody Chamber, as I couldn’t find the one with a cover as fantastic as The Magic Toyshop’s. Claire advised that it should be available in the US, and as I might be heading there next month…. please don’t judge me. I feel a little guilty about making this call. Hence, I picked up Angela Carter’s Fireworks instead.

I did want to take a book from the Booker longlist, and it was a toss up between Heliopolis, and How To Paint A Dead Man. I spent about thirty minutes at Foyles’ the other day, holding both books in my hand, and finally flipping a coin to decide! How To Paint A Dead Man emerged victorious – I so hope that fate doesn’t let me down on this one, although I have read some promising reviews in the blog-o-sphere.

So, my final six books:

  1. Daphne Du Maurier – Rebecca
  2. Sarah Waters – Fingersmith
  3. Haruki Murakami -Kafka On The Shore
  4. Natsuo Kirino – Out
  5. Angela Carter – Fireworks
  6. Sarah Hall – How To Paint A Dead Man

I think that makes a pretty damn good reading list, for two weeks. Don’t you?

Hopefully, I’ll get a chance to blog while away. If not, see you around, and have a fantastic two weeks.

PS: The picture above is one of the things I’m definitely going to do. Definitely! Looks sooo cool.

13 Responses to “T+0”

  1. I hope you have a wonderful time!

    Both the reading list and the horse-riding in the sea look amazing.

    I am curious how you will find Fireworks…

    • I ended up picking up Time Traveler’s Wife at the airport, so reading that at the moment. I’m scared about Fireworks now, though… why curious?

      • The Time Traveler’s Wife is such a great choice for travelling.
        Curiosity in a general sense… they aren’t my favourite Carter short stories but then neither is The Magic Toyshop my favourite of her novels!
        They are set in Japan which will create anticipation for your Japanese Literature Challenge reads!

  2. Damn, I miss being around horses all the time. Enjoy cooling off with them and your vacation. Looking forward to hearing what you think of your books, specifically Fingersmith. Bon voyage!

  3. I think another of my favourite bloggers is currently reading Kafka on the Shore, so I’m looking forward to contrasting the two reviews. And then I might read it myself!

    Have a great holiday! The sea and horses look fabulous. My holiday, overlapping yours, will involve colder, less blue, sea, and possibly llamas. But you don’t ride them. Not quite as glamourous…

    • Don’t fancy riding llamas, specially after being bitten by a camel last year… where you off to? Canada? Enjoy yourself!! :)

      And thank you! I’ll keep you posted on Kafka On The Shore.

  4. That’s such an excellent list! While I’ve only read Kafka on the Shore (which I loved), I so want to read How to Paint a Dead Man (and Rebecca, and Fingersmith, lol). And that thing about the Angela Carter cover is completely understandable.. I’m very much the same way. Enjoy, have a wonderful time!

    • Thank you, specially for understanding about the Angela Carter cover. I still feel so guilty, if you can believe it.

      I’m looking forward to this booklist now :)

  5. I haven’t read any of those, except Rebecca a reeeeally long time ago – I think it’s time for a reread! I tried Fingersmith and I know a lot of people love it, but I was in the really sick part of my pregnancy and somehow I just couldn’t finish it (I made it about halfway through!). Maybe after the baby comes I’ll have to give it another shot. Have a fun vacation!

  6. @Claire : I’m not yet in a short-stories frame of mind, so I’m going to start Kafka On The Shore instead of Fireworks now. Didn’t realize it was based in Japan to be honest – but now I’m slightly more intrigued.

    @lahni : I’ve read a couple of really bad reviews of Fingersmith on goodreads. That scares me a little, but all in all, I’m looking forward to reading it. I guess there’ll never be a book with 100% positive reviews. Best of luck with with the pregnancy, and the baby – with all the sleepless nights after, you’ll be able to catch up on all your reading :o)

  7. Hope you’re having a fantastic time, that picture looks great. Motoring through your books I see.


Leave a Reply

