Dilemmas

02Sep09

How do you decide which book to read next? Specially, when you have a multitude of books, across different genres, right in front of you?

Here’s my dilemma:

Five supposedly fantastic books, but for the life of me, I can’t figure out which to pick up next.

What do you do? Close your eyes, and say “eeny meeny minee mo”? Or, just pick up the first one you see? Or….

15 Responses to “Dilemmas”

  1. Choosing the next book depends on my mood, but even then it can be hard. I have several Heinlein books but didn’t know which to read as my first Heinlein novel. I did a process of elimination by plot synopsis and length and ended up reading Tunnel in the Sky, which I really liked.

    My current reading plan is to finish one or both of my “main reads” and then start on something Shakespeare and/or a sci-fi anthology. Of course that could change in a couple days.

  2. Amazing selection! You have three of my favourite books there
    + Rebecca, which I’m sure I’ll love
    + Fireworks, which sounds good.

    I pick books based on my mood. Sometimes I really need a fast paced thriller, sometimes I need something quieter. If you don’t feel the need for a particular type of book then just pick at random. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed by any of them.

  3. Like the others, I base on my mood. Sometimes, though, I’m not really sure what mood I’m in. The best way to find out is to read the firs page of each book, sample them and see which one pulls you the most. Hope this helps.

  4. thanks folks!

    you know how I handled this?! went to a second hand bookstore, and bought two new books: Mr. Pip and Speaker of the Dead. Woo me!!!!

  5. Haha uncertainprinciples that’s exactly the same problem I had this week, and my solution was to buy more books.

    Good luck choosing :P I’m the wrong person to give you advice on this matter

  6. Hahaha! I’ve done the same thing numerous times.

  7. Thank god for book blogging and solidarity! :D

  8. Choose OUT!!! then kafka on the Shore. I haven’t read the other 3 yet.

    Out is definitely a good read if you are into thriller

  9. 10 Michelle

    What I generally do when I’m in this kind of dilemma, is to randomly pick one. Like how I do the Random Reading Challenge.

    Not exactly the best way to sort out the problem, but then again, it does take matters out of my own hands (and indecision..). :)

    Glad you’ve decided on one. Though I have to say, if I were in your position, I’d probably be calling out for help too.

  10. Oo I’ve read four out of five in that list. They’re all good, but I think I gave the highest rating to Purple Hibiscus. It depends on your mood at the time of reading though.

  11. I feel you. All those books look tempting (and I don’t have a single one of them!). Thanks for showing us the books, you just added more books to my “to-be-bought” pile :)

    As I’m a Murakami fan, I’d recommend you read Kafka on the Shore. Though personally, I find the book a little too thick, which is why I still haven’t picked it up yet (but that time will come… hopefully soon).

    • lol, all the books above (barring Fireworks) are quite thick! I almost started Murakami, and then started The Little Stranger instead. I’m terrible!

      PS: That’s what we book bloggers do best – ensure that everyone’s reading pile increases exponentially. :)

  12. 14 Ellie

    Wow, I read “Kafka on The Shore” and “Out” this year and enjoyed them both.
    Though it is safe to say that I can never get enough Murakami. He hits me so deeply and in the most random ways.

    But I have to say that “Rebecca” is one of my all time favorites!

    I usually stack TBR books all over my house. Then when I finish my last book, I find myself a pile of TBRs. Then I look through my huge book collection and make another stack of books I am “feeling at the moment”. Then I usually pick something random off the shelf, something else random off the shelf and read the first page of each to determine what fits my mood.

    As you can tell, this is a horrible practice. TBR stacks everywhere and random books being read!

    happy reading!

    • Thank you for commenting here for the first time :)

      I love Murakami as well – although I really haven’t read as much of him as I would like to. Hence, am really looking forward to Kafka On The Shore. And after hearing so many wonderful things about Rebecca, I don’t know how I’m not just losing myself in it, instead of typing here!!

      Lol, I love your TBR philosophy. It sounds like my personal heaven. I’m so going to try it when I have a bigger place. Right now, I have the bottom shelf of my book case devoted to the infamous TBR. How boring is that?


Leave a Reply

