Of Being Ill, Home, and Other Random Nightmares…

17Oct09

It’s not that I’ve been neglecting my blog. It’s not that I’ve not been reading. It’s just that I’m really ill, with an “upper chest infection”. It’s not swine flu, which is a good thing… but, it does mean I’ve been on antibiotics, and in bed, and incapable of doing anything. No TV, no internet, no reading – just being in bed, and feeling sorry for myself. I didn’t actually get out of my bed all of Tuesday and Wednesday, but to go to the NHS and have them tell me to take meds.

I’ve been working on a very tight deadline for work, at the moment, and obviously falling ill got in the way of that. So, Tuesday night, I was dreaming that the guys I work with decided to dismember me, toe by toe, finger by finger, and dispose of me as I was being unreliable and irresponsible. So, I’m also taking a small break from thrillers that deal with dismemberment, considering I’ve been reading the Dexter series, as well as Natsuo Kirino’s Out. I don’t normally get nightmares, and I’ve stomached some seriously disturbing books, but, I think being ill makes me a lot more vulnerable, and maybe, at a level, I am actually scared of being cut up and thrown away. It’s a totally rational fear…

Anyway, I’m home for a week, and while I try and get well (or the course of antibiotics to run out), I’m keeping these on my bedside table, hoping to finish at least a couple…

Oh, and just because I’m home, I’ll be catching up on some Enid Blytons and Roald Dahls as well.

Happy days, despite feeling like a truck’s run over me, and all I want to do is crawl into bed and do nothing, but sleep this infection off.

14 Responses to “Of Being Ill, Home, and Other Random Nightmares…”

  1. 1 Jacqui

    Get well soon – I might just have to go out and find a copy of Gone With the Wind – loved this so much when I first read it.

  2. I’m so sorry to hear that you have been having nightmares. I guess it shows what a powerful book Out is. I hope that you get round to finishing it when you feel a bit better. In the meantime you have a great selection of books to chose from.

    I am really pleased that you have a copy of The Glass Room and Gone with the Wind is an amazing story.

    I hope you get better soon.

  3. Feel better sooon! Nightmares are so incredibly disturbing and you have a good collection of books there that shouldn’t make it into your dreams and scare you (although there are some nightmarish imaginings in Passion of New Eve). You have some great comfort reads, not least the children’s literature.

  4. Oh poor you! I missed you on your blog, and suspected illness. Wish I hadn’t been correct…

    Take your time recuperating; the Roald Dahl and Enid Blyton sound like grand choices, and I can imagine reading Gone With the Wind whilst feeling frail. Get well soon.

  5. 5 Pam

    Oooh, Sea of Poppies! Very good read (once you get past the weird parts of Creole-ish dialect) Also have The Glass Room on my TBR list (see? I’m starting to learn the lingo?) Looking forward to reading your thoughts on it…

    Feel better soon Cookie! x

  6. 6 Sarah

    Sorry to hear you’re under the weather, hope you get well soon.

    I capture the castle is one of my comfort reads, and I can also see the appeal of Blyton and Dahl. All guaranteed not to include dismemberment!

  7. Aww hope you feel better, nightmares featuring work people are the worst kind. Why not have a go at Fantastic Mr Fox in preperation for the new film?

  8. Get well soon. You sound awful!! You’ve got a great selection there. I really want to read The Glass Room and Angela Carter’s. I just watched Gone with the Wind for the first time ever (and on youtube to boot) a few weeks ago. The movie was long. I’m not sure if I can handle, and remain interested enough, for the book. Feel better!

  9. Hope you get well soon! Enjoy Enid Blyton – Best sicktime/bedtime reading I reckon ;)

  10. Thanks everyone! I’ve been reading my Roald Dahls, and enjoying them tremendously. Also read a couple of three investigators, but am unfortunately still feeling under the weather. :(

    I hope it passes soon. In the meantime, it’s good to be home!

  11. I haven’t read it, but heard that Sea of Poppies is fantastic… Hope you feel better soon!

  12. I hope you’ll be well soon, REALLY SOON now!


Leave a Reply

