Meme Time

24Oct09

I’m having a really poor October, with respect to blogging. It’s almost embarrassing, but, believe it or not, I’m still ill, despite finishing two courses of antibiotics. Being at home has helped some – at least I get Mum’s cooking, and read my childhood favorites – but, I’m still feeling really awful. :(

Anyway, I stumbled upon this meme on The Boston Bibliophile’s blog, and figured it might be fun to give it a lash. Here goes…

1. What author do you own the most books by?

Ah, this is easy. Enid Blyton. I have all of the Famous Fives, Five Find Outers, Secret Sevens, Malory Towers, St. Clares, The Naughtiest Girl, The Adventure Series, The Mystery Series, The Faraway Tree…. I think you get the idea. I must have over 150 Enid Blytons, easily.

2. What book do you own the most copies of?

None – I think I own just the one copy of all my books.

3. Did it bother you that both those questions ended with prepositions?

I did notice it, but, it didn’t really bother me.

4. What fictional character are you seriously in love with?

Ayn Rand’s Howard Roark {from The Fountainhead}, or JD Salinger’s Holden Caulfield {from Catcher In The Rye}. I know people either love or hate Caulfield, but, I still love him just as much as I did when I first read the book.

5. What book have you read the most times in your life?

It’s got to be an Enid Blyton! However, now-a-days, I make it a point to read The Fountainhead once a year… I haven’t read it this year, but, have read it once a year for the previous nine years. Also, Catcher In The Rye is my “feel-good” book, and I have three copies of it, and flip through it whenever I’m down in the dumps… can’t really say how many times I’ve read it, though…

6. Favorite book as a ten year old?

Has to be The Faraway Tree books, although, if I had to say a non-Enid Blyton book, it would be Roald Dahl’s The Witches.

7. What is the worst book you’ve read in the past year?

The only book I was unable to finish this year was Anne Enright’s The Gathering. Make of that what you will…

8. What is the best book you’ve read in the past year?

Angela Carter’s The Magic Toyshop, F Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby, Anthony Burgess’ A Clockwork Orange, Daphne Du Maurier’s Rebecca, Sarah Waters’ Fingersmith… boy, the list goes on!

9. If you could force everyone you know to read one book, what would it be?

In an ideal world, The Fountainhead. However, as it’s such a chunkster, I’d probably say Cormac McCarthy’s The Road, or Rohinton Mistry’s A Fine Balance.

10. What book would you like to see made into a movie?

Ooh, that’s a toughie. Maybe David Mitchell’s Number9Dream?

11. What is the most difficult book you’ve ever read?

In the recent past, Salman Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children. However, going back ten-odd years, I attempted to read Thomas Hardy’s Tess of the D’Ubervilles. That was difficult, and I didn’t really get far. I need to try another Hardy…

12. What is your favorite book?

I am going to pretend I don’t know the difference between book and books, and list: A Fine Balance, Diary Of A Bad Year, Catcher In The Rye, The Fountainhead, To Kill A Mockingbird, Lust for Life, Fahrenheit 451, An Equal Music. The list can go on and on and on…

13. What is your favorite play?

Shakepeare’s Macbeth

14. Poem?

Felicia Heman’s Casabianca

15. Essay?

Not really sure…

16. Who is the most overrated writer alive today?

I am going to skip this one… don’t think any of the writers are “overrated”.

17. What is your favorite desert island book?

At the risk of sounding like a broken record, Ayn Rand’s The Fountainhead.

18. And… what are you reading right now?

Dodie Smith’s I Capture The Castle

12 Responses to “Meme Time”

  1. I’ve always meant to read Cormac McCarthy. :-)
    I hope you feel better soon. I’m sorry your illness has been sticking around.

  2. I Capture the Castle is on my favorites so far this year. I hope you enjoy it.

  3. 3 Pam

    I hope you feel much better very soon…
    Overrated writer? DAN BROWNE! (you’re clearly a much nicer person than me)

  4. followed you from Boston Bibliophile. Wanted to see what you came up with. Interesting. Thanks for letting me in on your literary world.

  5. @Marie : Cormac McCarthy’s The Road is amazing. I couldn’t recommend it highly enough. Thanks :)

    @charley : Thank you. I’m loving it so far. The narrator has me charmed.

    @Pam : I don’t consider Dan Brown to be a writer. He’s a poor excuse…….. Sorry! But that’s what I think ;)

    @Nana Fredua-Agyeman : Thanks for stopping by for the first time. I hope you come by again:)

  6. No writer is over-rated because if over-rated therefore not a writer? Nice logic, like it!

    Sorry to hear that you are still ill. More best wishes for a speedier recovery here on in.

    What a great meme. And what great answers. Although I notice that you were cavlier with the word ‘book,’ singular, on more than one occasion. But easily justified under the circumstances!

    I fear that your enthusiasm for Ayn Rand may be dangerously contagious…

    • It’s true – would you call Dan Brown a writer? :)

      Thank you – I am better now, but still feeling incredibly weak. :( Hopefully, it’s just an after-effect of the antibiotics and will pass soon.

      Ayn Rand is amazing. If I remember correctly, you have Atlas Shrugged on your pile, but I personally liked The Fountainhead more. Oh, do be contagious – she’s incredible… and I love the whole “virtue of selfishness” philosophy she has going on.

  7. You won’t believe this, but I’ve never read anything by Enid Blyton. You think it’s worth it, even if I haven’t grown up with the books?

    The Fountainhead is one that I’d like to read, but I find it so daunting. The fact that you love it so much helps, it can’t be that bad in this case, can it? ;-)

    And a movie of Number9Dream? That would be something! Have you read his other books? Cloud Atlas is one of my favorite reads over the past few years.

    • I don’t believe that. Oh, just the thought of it depresses me. Try finding The Faraway Tree series – that was my introduction to “fantasy”, with incredibly colourful characters, and great adventures. It’s still in my top 10 favourites.

      The Fountainhead is daunting – I didn’t think I’d be able to complete it. However, once you get past the first 150 pages (I know that sounds like a lot), the pages just fly by. It’s heavy reading though, with some long philosophical speeches. But, it reminds us of being “selfish”, i.e. true to ourselves, irrespective of society, and not conforming to what people expect. That’s probably why I loved Roark as much as I did! (And do…)

      I have Cloud Atlas lying on my shelf. Hopefully, I’ll read it before the year’s out. I’m trying to imagine the bowling scene in the movie. How gory!

  8. 12 Stephen Isabirye

    It is great to learn that you are a very great Blyton enthusiast. I am glad to inform you that I have just published a book titled, The Famous Five:A Personal Anecdotage (www.bbotw.com).

    Stephen Isabirye


Leave a Reply

