Challenge Wrap Up #3 – Take A Chance Challenge

30Nov09


I just about finished the Take A Chance Challenge in the nick of time, and I have to say, it’s been fun! The randomness of this challenge led to me being pleasantly surprised a couple of times, and slightly disappointed a couple of times.

I created a list of the nine books I’d read as part of this challenge on 14 June 2009, and some five months later, I’m done!

The nine books I eventually read were:

1. John Christopher – The Death of Grass

2. Terry Pratchett – A Hat Full Of Sky

3. Orsan Scott Card – Ender’s Game

4. John Le Carre – A Murder Of Quality

5. Susan Hill – The Beacon

6. Gabriel Garcia Marquez – News Of A Kidnapping

7. David Guterson – East of the Mountains

8. Ann Brashares – The Sisterhood Of The Traveling Pants

9. JK Rowling – Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince

This challenge also included some “lit riffing”, which I did to REM’s Diminished. I thoroughly enjoyed writing that “short story”.

So, my favourites from this challenge have been John Christopher’s The Death of Grass, Oscar Scott Card’s Ender’s Game, and Marquez’s News Of A Kidnapping – the only non-fiction book read for this challenge.

I didn’t really enjoy a couple of the others, but, when you take a chance, you have to be prepared to win some, lose some. Considering some of the amazing finds, I’m quite happy to let the so-called “duds” go.

Thanks again Jenners, for coming up with such a fun and creative challenge!

6 Responses to “Challenge Wrap Up #3 – Take A Chance Challenge”

  1. I’m looking forward to reading News of a Kidnapping! Have read your review and am doubly excited.

  2. I admit I was dubious about this challenge: there’s taking a chance and then there’s the literary equivalent of bungee jumping… but it’s paid off. Congratulations on completing the challenge, and making it work for you. You’re a braver woman than I am!

    • Braver or stupider… depends on how you look at it.

      Thank you – it was worth it, I think, at the end of it, despite two or three disappointing reads.

  3. Congrats on completing your challenge-glad you found some awesome books!


Leave a Reply

