An Honest Scrap Meme

03Jan10

I haven’t done a meme in absolutely ages, so when Mae from Mad Bibliophile tagged/awarded me with the “Honest Scrap” meme, I figured it would be a good time to change that. Plus, it does seem like a fun meme.

The rules seem straightforward enough:

a. ‘The Honest Scrap Blogger Award’ must be shared.

b. The recipient has to tell 10 (true) things about themselves that no one else knows

c. The recipient has to pass on the award to 10 more bloggers.

d. Those 10 bloggers should link back to the blog that awarded them

So, while I can’t promise these are ten things about me that no one knows, they are ten “bookish” secrets (i.e. relatively few people know about them). Here goes…

  1. I hate shopping, but, if I’ve had a bad day at work, I tend to go to a bookshop and splurge without thinking twice, leading to the number of unread books on my shelf increasing rapidly.
  2. When I was ten years old, I had an almost unhealthy obsession with Nancy Drew case files. I think I’ve read 120 of the 124 books. Any spare money I found was spent on them. I probably have about 90 of them neatly shelved.
  3. The first book that I left halfway belonged to the Sweet Valley University series. Needless to say, I never went near one of those books again.
  4. I faked achluophobia (fear of darkness) when I was a child, just so that I could read past my bedtime, without my parents wondering why the lights were switched on.
  5. My first love was the fictional Howard Roark from Ayn Rand’s The Fountainhead.
  6. The fictional character I could most relate to was Holden Caulfield. Looking back, I think that’s slightly worrying, but, when I was about fourteen, I just felt a connection…
  7. I think I might have read every single Enid Blyton out there. Someday soon, I’m going to verify that.
  8. If and when I buy a place, it’ll have one room as my study. Really, that room is just going to be a massive library… I’ve already got a rough plan as to how I want it to look. Bean bags, a coffee machine, endless supplies of cookies and “the world’s best book collection” are mandatory. I look at Neil Gaiman’s library, and am filled with such envy!
  9. I haven’t read a single book by Austen or Bronte. Yes, I know, that sounds completely wrong, and it’s something I’m hoping to change…soon!
  10. In another life, and another time, I would’ve done English Lit and Creative Writing at university. I graduated in Computer Science and Business Studies – the other end of the spectrum!

And I’m tagging the following bloggers …

  1. Jodie @ BookGazing
  2. Sarah @ Sarah’s Books
  3. Claire @ Paperback Reader
  4. Kerry @ Hungry Like The Woolf
  5. Michelle @ su[shu]
  6. Jo @ Peachy Books
  7. joanna @ It’s All About Me

Oh, and anyone else who is interested – looking forward to seeing the honest scraps!

17 Responses to “An Honest Scrap Meme”

  1. Thanks for the tag! I’ll complete this sometime this week.

    I’m surprised that you haven’t read any Austen or Bronte (Charlotte, I take it?) although I would say that you’re not missing much with the Bronte.

    I’m thinking about my bookish facts now…

    I’ve read a lot of Enid Blyton but know that I haven’t read them all – look forward to your process of verification!

    • Believe it or not, but none of the Bronte sisters! I don’t know how they’ve eluded me this long.

      My process of verification would most likely include this beautiful thing called Wikipedia! :)

      Looking forward to your scraps!

  2. Thanks for tagging me. I’ll get to it probably later today or tomorrow? We’ll see. =)

    I understand #2. Though my obsession with Nancy Drew was probably thanks to the fact that my library at that time would only allow me to go into the children’s section, and the only readable books they had were Nancy Drews. No Enid Blyton, no Roald Dahl (and I have no idea why..)

    I feel you with #10. =)

    • Cool – can’t wait to see what you come up with.

      Ouch! Luckily, my library had Enid Blytons and Roald Dahls as well as RL Stines and the 3 Investigators. I did read all of them, but, Nancy Drew files had a special place… Shhh…

  3. But you do know that being honest about my dark literary secrets isn’t my strongest virtue? On the other hand I love an interesting meme. Thanks!

    Can I suggest Wuthering Heights? I never got round to blogging it because it was in the early days when I was generally unsure, but I’d love to hear what you make of it. I’m amazed that you didn’t encounter anything by those authors at school.

    • Now, now! Honesty is the best policy – haven’t you heard? :) Am a little more curious about yours now… for instance, the author you own the most books by! C’mon, I’m talking about Nancy Drew files. Don’t think it can get much worse.

      I encountered Dickens in school (they almost ruined Great Expectations for me), and a lot of Shakespeare. Short stories and poetry took precedence over novels, for the most part. In hindsight, I think it’s a good thing – they couldn’t ruin all the potentially good books.

      • Ah. I have come clean about that question now… which means finding even more bookish skeletons for this meme!

  4. 8 lena

    No Austen or Bronte? We must remedy that!

    And I laughed out loud at you faking fear of darkness to read. A book nerd at an early age! ;)

  5. Pretty impressive that your first love was from an Ayn Rand’s book!

    I completely have a similar view of my future house. I can’t wait to build/place floor to ceiling shelves. A coffee machine is an excellent idea.

    And there’s still time to do an English lit. degree in this lifetime. I kind of envy you for that. I’ll never get the chance to do it again.

    Thanks for doing this. I really enjoyed reading it!

    • I read Fountainhead when I was fourteen and an idealist. Some ten years later, the idealist in me lives on, and I still love Roark!

      It’s my idea of paradise – the future house. Coffee machine, never-ending chocolate and popcorn included. What could possibly make life better?

      Awww, you’re right. I can do the degree. It’s such a tempting proposition….

      And thanks for the tag again :)

  6. I am so envious of Gaiman’s library…I think we all dream of a library like this one!

  7. I totally relate to your first truth! I also wish I’d done English Lit and Creative Writing at uni. Wouldve probably been unemployed but extremely happy lol

    • Haha, I think that’s probably the only reason I didn’t end up doing that course…

      As for spontaneous book buying as therapy – it’s worse than retail therapy… it makes you feel immensely guilty when all the unread books are silently sitting on the shelves judging you…….


  1. 1 An Honest Scrap « Hungry Like the Woolf
  2. 2 Honest Scrap Meme « su[shu]

Leave a Reply

