Reading In March

01Mar10

I’ve had a pretty fantastic female reading month in February. It’s not something I’ve ever done knowingly, or inadvertently before, so, I was ecstatic with the results! Seriously! I mean, a Sarah Waters book was the biggest disappointment – that’s got to be a good reading month, right?

So, following on from my Fantastic Female February, it’s time to do a Marvellous Magnificent Male March! Alliterations – they always make me smile. :)

I’m moving house this month, and, most of these books are pretty chunky, so while I might not finish all of them, I’ll hopefully finish at least five.

  1. Jasper Fforde – Shades of Grey : I haven’t read anything by Fforde, but in the last couple of months, there have been some spectacular reviews on this book. Also, at the risk of sounding superficial, I love the cover!
  2. Simon Lelic – Rupture : Read a fantastic review of this, which claimed the book was a cross between We Need To Talk About Kevin and Notes On A Scandal. Based on that description alone, I thought Rupture is a must-read.
  3. Milan Kundera – Farewell Waltz : I’m working my way through all the books by Kundera. Due to the finite number of books published, I’m just reading one Kundera a year, so, here we go. I love his style, and his writing always leaves me craving for more.
  4. José Saramago – Death At Intervals : A recent blogpost by Jackie reminded me that I’ve been planning on reading Death At Intervals for absolutely ages. It was this review by Sarah that prompted me to add this book to my TBR in the first place.
  5. Jeffrey Eugenides – Middlesex : I don’t really think I need to say more. Everyone who’s read this has loved it (well, everyone I know anyway!), so, it’s my turn now.
  6. John Connolly – The Book of Lost Things : Like Middlesex above, most people have raved about this book, and hold it to the highest regard. The plot sounds fantastic, and it’s again one of those I’ve had on my to-read pile for ages.
  7. Michael Chabon – The Adventures of Kavalier and Clay : I have wanted to read this book for quite some time now, but it kept slipping off the radar. I saw an interview with Marcus Zusak recently, though, and he claimed Chabon was one of his favourite authors. After hearing that, how could this not be bumped up the TBR?

So, how was your February reading, and what’s in store for you in March?

Also, any suggestions as to which book I should kick off the month with?

45 Responses to “Reading In March”

  1. Looks like you have a great stack to read in March. Thanks for the link to the interview with Marcus Zusak. I read The Book Thief recently and would put it in my top 10!

  2. 3 aartichapati

    I really enjoyed The Book of Lost Things- it was a lot darker than I expected. I have Middlesex and Kavalier & Clay on my shelves to read- so I look forward to your reviews of those! What a great idea for a month’s reading :-)

    • Thank you. I have heard wonderful things about Book of Lost Things and I’m really looking forward to it. Hopefully, I’ll enjoy Middlesex and K&C as much as well.

  3. I did not get far in either Middlesex or The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay, but I feel as though I should give them both a second chance. I look forward to reading your thoughts on them.

  4. 7 deucekindred

    I’ve read Middlesex and absolutely loved it! Kavalier and Clay is equally great but it’s better if you do some background reading on the golden age of comics, especially superman.

    The Joesph Connolly book seems cool as well.

  5. 9 farmlanebooks

    I actually quite jealous of your March pile! Middlesex, Kavalier and Clay and Rupture were all 4.5+/5 star reads for me and you know how much I love Saramago. It looks as though you have a stunning month lined up. I hope that you enjoy them all as much as I did.

  6. It all looks very organised, but you would have to be if you plan to move house too. Hope your new home comes with plenty of book storage potential!

    Thanks for linking my review; I do hope you will like the Saramago. And that reminds me that I too have one of his books waiting to be read…

    • Hmm, the move has been canceled for the time-being. Don’t ask. At least it means less time packing, more time reading/blogging. :)

      Thanks for the review – it’s what brought my attention to the Saramago to begin with! Which one are you reading next?

      • Sorry about your move :(

        I have Blindness on the pile, but it has sunk right to the bottom. I suppose some book has to be there, else the whole thing would topple over. Or something like that… Everybody who has read Blindness has liked it, but I just know that it’s going to make my brain hurt!

      • lol, might as well finish off with books less likely to make your brains hurt then :)

  7. As you’ve said, everyone you know who’s read Middlesex loved it. I do too, haha. I reread that last year, just to make sure if it wasn’t a fluke that I liked it so much the first time, and I ended up loving it more–seeing new details, forming new opinions.

    Also, since we’re on the topic of gender, until a little over a year ago, I’d thought Milan Kundera was a girl. (Haven’t read him, so no reason to look at an author photo, I suppose?) :p

    My February reads are here. I want to take a page from your book and try to read with more focus. Because I’ve been all over the place. :)

    • Thanks for re-affirming my faith in Middlesex. I’ll probably pick it up next.

      If you do want to try Kundera, start with Unbearable Lightness of Being – it’s fantastic.

      I’m usually all over the place as well, but have accumulated too many unread books at home now, and get overwhelmed everytime I stare at the shelf. Hence, I’m trying to sub-categorize them. Decision making isn’t my thing.

      • Re Kundera, I figured that was the best place to start. A lot more people swear by that novel, and so, well, there I’ll go. Eventually. :)

        Love your categorizing. But I’m strange, so I’ll probably come up with, “Books I Bought Four Years Ago” and “Books I Bought When I Slipped Into The Bookstore Intending to Just Get Away from the Tropical Sun.” :) This March, well, who knows? Hahaha.

        Good luck with Eugenides!

      • I should probably do something like that as well – Books bought two years back and not read!! etc.

  8. Thanks for asking. My February reading was good: http://silverseason.wordpress.com/2010/02/26/what-i-read-in-february-2010/.

    Read the Chabon. I didn’t expect to enjoy Kavalier and Clay, which I borrowed on a whim, and it was one of those books where I was sorry to finish because I wanted more.

    • Noticed you read Blindness last month. Haven’t read it, but do want to.

      Thanks for the comment on the Chabon. Hope I have the same experience as you, on reading it.

  9. I’m thrilled that you are having another alliterative month! I love it.

    Shades of Grey was fabulous and it is not superficial in the slightest to love the cover – it’s an amazing one!

    I am probably the only person who didn’t love Middlesex; I found it very disappointing after having loved The Virgin Suicides so much.

    • And April can be Angela’s April :) Well, probably not, as I wouldn’t want to read too many of her books in one go, but…

      I actually didn’t absolutely love The Virgin Suicides for some reason. Hoping that will help my experience of Middlesex….? Pushing my luck much?

  10. 23 Pam

    Marvelous Middlesex is extremely enjoyable, clever Cookie!

  11. Start with Middlesex would be my recommendation. Although its the only book of those that I have read, it is so amazing!

    • Thanks Becky – I’ve not been tuned in to blogging last couple of days, so started with Rupture. Middlesex will be next. Hope I find it equally amazing.

  12. 27 She

    Love, love, love The Book of Lost Things! I hope you really enjoy it. Watch out for the gnomes!

  13. I love this idea of male and female months of reading. I don’t think you can go wrong with the Jasper Fforde and I liked ‘Middlesex’ so those are my two recommendations. I love your bear btw, does he have a range of different hats or is that one sewn on?

    • Nah, the hat is unfortunately sown on. I might have to make him a regular feature!

      I’ve not read any Fforde yet, so looking forward to this one. As for Middlesex, I have very high hopes for it.

  14. I haven’t read any from the list you have here, though I’ve heard plenty of good things about most of the books you have. So I’m guessing you’re in for another good month! Looking forward to your thoughts on them.

  15. 33 Mae

    NICE! What a great pile o’ books you have there. I’m still waiting for my copy of Shades of Grey. I love my Jasper Fforde. And I’ve been reading to read ‘Book of Lost Things’ too. Any title with ‘book’ in it always gets my attention.

  16. 37 Kim

    What a great month of reading you have! Fforde is new to me, so I’ll be looking forward to what you think. You are in for a treat with Chabon and Middlesex!

  17. This is such a good selection. I’ve been meaning to read Middlesex and Kavalier & Clay for years! And I looooove Jasper Fforde.

  18. All your choices look wonderful. The only one I have read as of yet is Middlesex and it was great!!

  19. This is a terrific list — I haven’t read any of these novels yet. I do have a book by Jose Saramago — Blindness — on my shelf, and I hope to read it soon.

  20. I’m so excited that you’re reading Middlesex! It’s my all-time favourite book :)


Leave a Reply

