Stephanie Meyer – Twilight

22Dec09

If you love the Twilight books, I suggest you don’t continue reading this review, despite the fact that it’s going to be a really short one. Nope – I didn’t enjoy the book, and worse, I didn’t see any point to it. I struggled to page 279, and then, I just gave up. On one hand, I do congratulate myself for getting that far, but on the other, I berate myself for wasting that much time. The saving grace is, I didn’t buy the books, but borrowed them from a friend, and she’s going to get three of them back completely untouched.

So, the “story” in a nutshell:

Girl (Bella) moves to her father’s, after her mother re-marries and wants to travel with her new husband. While living with her mother, Bella is a misfit, but at Forks, she’s cool, and all the boys at school seem to have a crush on her. Yet, she has eyes on only one: Edward. He harbours a dark secret, which she discovers, and despite that, the two of them cannot stay away from one another.

About three things I was absolutely positive.
First, Edward was a vampire.
Second, there was a part of him – and I didn’t know how dominant that part was – that thirsted for my blood.
And third, I was unconditionally and irrevocably in love with him.

Most of the book had me wincing with the cheesy lines, and cringing with the constant Adonis and Greek god references. Yes, I know it’s for teenagers and young adults – but, it’s so gushy, that, I was literally wondering why I was continuing to read it. Of course, when I came across the below, I snapped the book shut. I’d reached my saturation point:

“What am I going to do with you?” he groaned in exasperation. “Yesterday I kiss you, and you attack me! Today you pass out on me!”

[…]

“No – that wasn’t the same kind of fainting at all. I don’t know what happened.” I shook my head apologetically. “I think I forgot to breathe”.

I’m just not going to bother rating this book, as I definitely wasn’t the target audience, and it’s probably my own fault for seeking it out. Guess it’s a love it or hate it book, and I unfortunately fell in the latter category.

Oh well…

22 Responses to “Stephanie Meyer – Twilight”

  1. You did better than me! i barely made it to page 50 before throwing it down.

    There’s an awesome article that I lost the link to that explains the reason behind so many adults loving this book and bragging about “being able to finish it in one day” is because it was written at a grade 4 reading level. LOL.

    Did you know i tried googling wuthering heights to find a nice cover to include in my review of it a while back, and got all these twilight pages popping up? Abominable!

    Okay rant over. For now…

    • I wish I’d stopped at fifty. I knew it wasn’t my kind of book, but I thought I’d try giving it a fair chance, and surely, there’d be some plot or story as opposed to Bella gushing for over three hundred pages! Took me 280 pages to realise… Nah!

      Ugh! I saw the new cover of Wuthering Heights, which had a Twilight-like cover. Very disturbing. Well, if it gets teenagers to read some classics, it might not be a bad thing…

  2. That’s when I lost it, too. The fainting. I had a bad feeling in the pit of my stomach when she thought the scent of her hair offended Edward (but thank GOODNESS it still smelled like strawberries), but the fainting… that took me over the edge.

    • Argh – I remember that bit (about strawberries)! I was on the tube, and getting increasingly cranky about just how bad this book was. And then, I read the part about fainting and snapped the book shut.

      Thank god for carrying multiple books at any point in time!

  3. Haha!! “I forgot the breathe”. I couldn’t get past page 1 before I was torn between laughing and throwing up. Eugh. Hideous. Have you seen the movie? Which is worse?

    • I haven’t seen the movie, thankfully. I reckon, if I had, I might have been able to avoid the book. Have you seen it?

      Hats off to you – wish I’d done the same!

  4. I usually try really really hard not to trash any book, especially before reading. But this one is like asking for it :P. I have successfully stayed away from both books and movies so far and pray that it stays so.

  5. I’ve not read this one, but then again, I was never planning to. A friend of mine was really excited about reading this, which was quite a while back. The next time I saw her and asked about the book, she gave me an exasperated look and said she couldn’t finish it. “Too cheesy” she said.

    • “Too cheesy” is almost being “too kind”. I almost feel bad for your friend…

      I did start the book tentatively, so, maybe it’s not quite so bad for me.

  6. I’m definitely in the hate category for this book too! I did manage to read the whole thing though – but I definitely didn’t move onto the sequels! I had a big problem with the way women and their relationships with men were portrayed in the books.

    • Congratulations on finishing it – guessing as you’re not going for the sequels, the last 100 odd pages didn’t do much for you?

      I agree with you – I was thinking back to ten years ago, and realised I was never quite so hopeless!! Not even half-way there… It would’ve been mortifying if I was… Teenage girls are quite bad, but this was way too hyperbolic.

      I can relate to the one Sweet Valley Twins & Friends book I read more than I can relate to this – says it all, methinks.

  7. 13 Pam

    Yay Cookie! I have to confess to judging you harshly when I saw Twilight on your TBR list, but as always you don’t disappoint! Have a merry Christmas. x

    • Aww, don’t judge me!

      Two of my friends who I have a reasonably high opinion of said it was worth a read, and I should give it a shot. I might have to reconsider our friendship after that… or, ask them why they hate me!

      Merry Christmas xx

  8. I can’t join in Twilight bashing because I haven’t read it… but it’s a pleasure I am happy to forego under the circumstances!

  9. I love the quotes you’ve picked! It does sound terrible. I know I will probably hate it too, but I still want to know what it is like. I hope to read it soon and have fun writing a post about it!

    • One of the main reasons why I read it was to know what it was about. Now I realise why curiosity killed the cat.

      Hope you have better luck with this than I did.

  10. I do agree, Twilight is a love it or hate it kind of book. And I fell for it hook line and sinker :) I even liked the cheesey lines and all the swooning…lol. Its one of my favorites reads :)

  11. I got stuck after the first paragraph because of the cheese. After a few months, I picked it up again. Now, I’m stuck on page 228. For me, the plot and the characters became tolerable, but I think the writing (as in the actual words and words into sentences thing) is just awful.


Leave a Reply

