Erich Segal – Doctors

31Jan10

With a single exception they were all white. And with five exceptions, all male.

Doctors follows the Harvard Medical School’s Class of 1962 through the hell of medical school, fatigue of the internship and residency, and battles as doctors once they’ve chosen their speciality. Not only does it focus on the professional demands of medicine, but also on the life and loves of the graduates.

It seems as though the book spans multiple eras, from the Spanish Civil War, to World War II, to Vietnam; from a time when women, Jews and blacks were discriminated against, to Martin Luther King’s I Have A Dream speech; from the time when doctors worried more about the legal consequences of their actions before helping a dying patient to – well, some things never change.

The central characters of the book are the two best friends from Brooklyn: Laura and Barney. Both follow their dreams of becoming doctors for different reasons: for Laura, it’s survivor’s guilt; for Barney, it’s having a father figure in Laura’s father, as his own father was away at war for most of his childhood. The first chunk of the book revolves around the two families, before the curtains open for the reader to be introduced to various other characters: Bennett Landsmann, a black aspiring surgeon whose parents are Holocaust survivors; Seth Lazarus, a brilliant student who hates watching patients suffer more than anything else; and Peter Wyman, an obnoxious intelligent doctor, whose ambition is to be simply the best. There are many more characters, but, I think those three were the most powerful.

In their years at Harvard, the class sees their fellow classmates attempt suicide (and in some cases, succeed), pop pills, or be addicted to some caffeine source or the other. They dissect their first cadaver, open up breathing dogs, and need to know the names of all the bacteria that exist on the teeth! Yet, taking a step back from medicine, there’s the Malpractice Cup: a basketball game between the Law School and the Medical School; facing family problems like their mother turning into a lay sister and the father going to Cuba as Castro’s got the right idea; falling in love and moving on.

When they move on to the real world, things get more complicated. Identity crises, relationships souring over the demands of their chosen profession, moral dilemmas over euthanasia take center-stage (and the courtroom), one of the doctors is unable to continue in his stream due to no fault of his, but through it all, their friendships stay tight: Barney and Laura; Barney and Bennett; Laura and Grete. And when push comes to shove, the most unlikely of the classmates comes through as well.

The ordinary person worships doctors as if they’re gods; if not gods, at least super-humans. However, this book is an insight into how flawed doctors are as people (almost each of them was talking to a shrink by the end of the book), and the kind of things that drive them, and the kind of things that break them. It’s funny in bits, heartbreaking in others and Erich Segal does a wonderful job of bringing the emotions and characters to life, such that you feel like you’ve known them (and liked them… or disliked them) forever.



8 Responses to “Erich Segal – Doctors”

  1. 1 deucekindred

    I have to admit that I’ve always been a bit awry of this book – I felt that it was like some pulpy bestseller. In fact when I worked at a bookstore for 5 years the only people who would buy Doctors (and Love Story) were bored housewives.

    • Haha, I have to admit, I loved Love Story! But, I was fourteen when I first read it, so maybe I’m excused?

      Erich Segal’s books are mostly “bestsellers” – typical page turners, but, at the same time, the books do have some kind of moral message, and the characters are mostly intelligent, and self-driven: characters you wouldn’t actually mind knowing in reality!

      • I agree! I also read Love Story when I was just a little past adolescence and loved it then. I now realize he’s a supermarket author but as a teen I had been so fascinated with the adult world, particularly this one, Doctors, which made it my favourite Segal.

      • Haha, tell me about it. Ditto for me.

        My favourite Segal was The Class though…

  2. 5 deucekindred

    Thanks for the info :)

  3. I do a lot of work with people with mental illness’s and I think that this one sounds really interesting – I will definitely keep my eye out for it!

  4. I really liked the story of this novel.Now I would like to read all the novels by erich segal.He is a brilliant author.


Leave a comment